Saturday, 16 January 2021

Sarangani’s Best Eco-Friendly schools and barangays get tri-wheel vehicles

ALABEL, Sarangani (December 1, 2019) - The Provincial Environment and Natural Resources Office (PENRO) in Sarangani awarded tri-wheel vehicles to the top performers in the search for the Best Eco-Friendly barangays and schools as incentive for developing effective solid waste management program.

The awarding and recognition was done timely in the course of the Sarangani’s 27th Founding Anniversary and 17th Munato Festival on November 29.

Rolando Tuballes, Sarangani’s PENRO head, said the search was designed to encourage municipalities in Sarangani to “undertake effective solid waste programs anchored towards the application of innovative technologies and techniques in reusing, recycling and reducing wastes.”

Barangay Upper Mainit in Malungon ranked first while Lebe in Kiamba, Ladol in Alabel, Suli in Kiamba, and New La Union in Maitum placed 2nd to 5th, respectively.

Malalag Cogon National High School in Malungon bested in the search for Eco-Friendly Schools followed by Pangyan National High School in Glan, Malapatan Central Elementary School, Malalag Central Elementary School in Malungon, and Tokawal National High School in Alabel.

Aside from the criteria and guidelines crafted consistent with the implementation of solid waste management, Tuballes said they also evaluated other environmental programs implemented by the local government units and schools.

The team composed of evaluators from PENRO, Sangguniang Panlalawigan Committee on Environment, Provincial Planning and Development Office, Department of the Interior and Local Government, Department of Education and Sarangani Province Empowerment and Community Transformation Forum, Inc. (SPECTRUM Inc.) conducted two rounds of evaluation to determine the five Best Eco-Friendly Barangays and five Best Eco-Friendly Schools.

Tuballes added that SPECTRUM, Inc. donated one of the tri-wheel vehicles given as incentives to top performers thru its Project REDUCE funded by Coca-Cola Foundation. (Beverly C. Paoyon/SARANGANI COMMUNICATIONS SERVICE)

Read 1369 times