Monday, 15 August 2022 20:52

Sarangani Youth Officials sworn in for 1 week stint at Capitol

ALABEL, Sarangani (August 15, 2022) – Governor Rogelio “Ruel” D. Pacquiao led the oath-taking rites on August 15 of the Sarangan youth leaders who will govern the corridors, albeit without real power, of the Capitol for a week.

Their journey as little honorables would hone their innate skills and knowledge in politics, particularly in parliamentary procedure, resolution and ordinance -making, and all related activities.

After a tedious selection process, the 15 Sarangan youth leaders took their oath as Sarangani Youth Officials (SJO) 2022 during the Flag Raising Ceremony of the Provincial Capitol on August 15.

The Sarangani Junior Officials – Alumni Association (SJO-AA) and Local Development Division Unit (LYDU) collaborated to kickstart the event after two years of pandemic-related standstill.

Vice Governor Elmer T. De Peralta was present during the courtesy call along with some of the board members who met their junior counterparts during the office tour.

Provincial Youth Officer John Oliver Tablazon emphasized the importance of having SJOs ranging from 13-17 years old to educate and train Sarangan youth on the functions of the government in society.

“Gusto natin na mamulat sila sa pagtrabaho sa gobyerno,” explained Tablazon about the program’s essence. “Or paano sila makatulong as to be a part or partners of government na paano mapaunlad pa lalo na maging resilient, dynamic and progressive ang Sarangani Province.”

In addition, LYDU Community Affairs Gretchin D. Bone aims to emulate the efforts of the SJO’s first batch. This batch curated the first institutionalized research festival in partnership with the Department of Education, the first of its kind in the region and in the country.

The SJOs are set to visit Vice Governor Peralta’s office to attend an orientation about the basics of resolution-making and parliamentary procedure.

“Magkakaroon sila ng exposure sa ating session with our board members,” Bone said. Speakers and invited guests will also give talks to the SJOs to prepare them for the mock session on the final day, wherein they evaluate and deliberate their drafted ordinances and resolutions.

In contrast to the past batches’ strict 13-17 years old policy in sifting candidates, Bone emphasized the uniqueness of this year’s batch. It extended the qualification to 18 years old.

Representing the Municipality of Glan, Junior Governor Teodore John G. Naraga thanked the facilitators for considering the petition, giving chance to those who were deprived during the pandemic.

“Through this, we can develop ourselves to become a better WE in the future. We can make an impact to our communities and molding our better self in the field of government,” Junior Governor Naraga said.

“Congressman” Vice Navarro from the Municipality of Alabel shared his plans and perspective after becoming one of the chosen junior officials and the elected counterpart of Cong. Steve Solon.

“As a youth in Sarangani who is actively participating, I will still continue my advocacy as a youth to empower all of the people especially those youth in the far-flung areas,” said Junior Congressman Navarro. “I think I will expound and explore more the social differences and social inclusivity of this province.”

Hailing from Maitum, Junior Vice Governor Zyrex Kier Cortez explained the effect of the pandemic on the province as well as the program. “I think after the pandemic we are literally in a massive massive health crisis. One of hindi mawawala with my co-SJO's is to create an impactful health response sa ating lahat and also sa ating community.”

Junior Vice Governor Cortez also insisted on creating more intensive and more well-written resolutions for the betterment of the province.

The 12 board members are represented by different youths from the municipalities of Sarangani: John Matt Gilbero (Malungon) as Hon. Tranquilino Ruiz; Justine Vidad Dijan (Glan) as Hon. Arnold Abequibel; Lawrence Jay Conono (Kiamba) as Hon. Joseph Calanao: Vince Patrick Nuynay (Malungon) as Hon. Irish Arnado; Danah Ysabelle Leonidas (Malungon) as Hon. Corazon Grafilo; Hon. Maria Luz Galbines (Malapatan) as Hon. Russel Jamora; Xandra Pamela O Gutang (Malapatan) as Hon. Ephraim Galzote; Cendie Jessa Garcia (Kiamba) as Hon. Jess Bascuña; Aryu C. Delcano (Alabel) as Hon. Gwynn Singcoy; Mervie Jane S. Segudan (Maasim) as Hon. Benjamin Donato; Aljim Nacion Kudarat (Maasim) as Hon. Umbra Pangolima; and Mark Pecolados Negro (Alabel) as Hon. Evelyn Alegario. (Dyulliana Anushkah Toyogon, with Febilyn Arroza/SARANGANI PROVINCIAL INFORMATION OFFICE).

Read 269 times